Battle Honours - RDG Museum

RDG Museum

Battle Honours - RDG Museum

Battle Honours of The Royal Dragoon Guards

Battle Honours fall within two categories: those that may be displayed on a Standard, Guidon or Colour, and those that may not. Those that may be displayed are shown within the Army List in bold type whereas the ones that may not be displayed are shown in normal type. This originates from Army Order (470) published on 16 December 1922, which stated that "Regiments of Cavalry … will have emblazoned on their Standards, Guidons, Battle Honours earned … up to a maximum of 10, in addition to those already carried". As a result regiments nominated the 10 Great War Battle Honours they wished to have displayed on their Standards and Guidons and these were subsequently shown in bold within the Army List to differentiate them from the remainder. In 1956 the same occurred for World War II. From the combined lists of the two regiments it is possible to identify the ones now attributed to the RDG and which should be shown in bold.

They are:

Blenheim (13th August 1704)
Malplaquet (11th May 1709)
Beaumont (26th April 1794)
Ramillies (23rd May 1706)
Dettingen (27th June 1743)
Willems (10th May 1794)
Oudenarde (17th July 1708)
Warburg (31st July 1760)
Salamanca (22nd July 1812)
Vittoria (21st June 1813)
Toulouse (10th April 1814)
Peninsula (17th August 1808 - 14th April 1814)
Waterloo (16th - 18th June 1815)
South Africa 1846-47 (16th March 1846 - 16th December 1847)
Balaklava (25th October 1854)
Sevastopol (19th September 1854 - 8th September 1855)
Tel-el-Kebir (13th September 1882)
Egypt 1882 (11th July – 23rd September 1882)
Defence of Ladysmith (29th October 1899 – 27th February 1900)
South Africa 1899-1902 (12th October 1899 – 31st May 1902)


The Great War 1914–18

Mons, Le Cateau, Retreat from Mons, Marne 1914, Aisne 1914, La Bassee 1914, Messines 1914, Armentieres 1914, Ypres 1914, 15, Givenchy 1914, St Julien, Frezenberg, Bellewaarde, Somme 1916, 18, Bazentin, Flers-Courcellette, Morval, Arras 1917, Scarpe 1917, Cambrai 1917, 18, St Quentin, Rosieres, Avre, Lys, Hazebrouck, Amiens, Albert 1918, Hindenburg Line, St Quentin Canal, Beaurevoir, Pursuit to Mons, France and Flanders 1914-18.

World War II 1939–46

Dyle, Withdrawal to Escaut, St Omer – La Bassee, Dunkirk 1940, Normandy Landing, Odon, Mont Pincon, St Pierre la Vielle, Lisieux, Risle Crossing, Seine 1944, Nederrijn, Lower Maas, Geilenkirchen, Roer, Rhineland, Cleve, Rhine, Ibbenbüren, Bremen, North West Europe 1940, 44-45.

1946 To Date

The Hook 1952, Korea 1951-52.

Leave a Comment

Your name
Your email
Please type in the letters/ numbers you see
[ Different Image ]